17
Mar
09

The Shack

the-shack-pic6Well I know I’m pretty late to the bandwagon of people who have read The Shack, by William Young.  And I have to be honest and tell you that it took me some time to read this “Best Seller.”  I know of people like my mom and several others that have read the book in one day.  Well not me.

Anyhow, I finished it last night and. . . I have good news and I have bad news about what I thought of the book.  So . . . I’ll tell you what I thought tomorrow.

Until then, I’d love to hear what you thought about the book.  I’m sure you’re one of the gazillion people who’ve read it.

SO. . .  tell me.

More to come tomorrow.

5 Responses to “The Shack”


  1. March 17, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    I thought it was a very good story. I think the attempt of the book was to take you far enough out of what you’ve heard about God over and over (to the extent that the realities of the crucifixion or salvation or God’s love have lost all impact) so that you could see them for the first time. In that way it reminds me of Chesterton’s “The Everlasting Man”.

    I can understand why some people are concerned about the theology of the book, but it is not a theological work. It is a work of art that points to certain characteristics of God that we need to be reminded of.

    I could say more, but I won’t. I look forward to your thoughts on the book.

  2. 2 Jon Land
    March 17, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Well, I guess I’m right there with you Shannon. Havent read it myself either.

  3. 3 chris wingo
    March 18, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I liked it. I liked the thought of Jesus being a guy you could just hang out with. (There is nothing in this world I would want more than to sit on a pier on a dark night and stare at the stars, right beside Jesus.) I view the book just like I view C.S. Lewis’s space trilogy (Out of the Silent Planet, Palandrea, and The Hideous Strength). Lewis wrote these books with himself as a character that was chronicling the adventures that beset the main character Ransome. It was a piece of fiction written as though it really happened. I think it’s good to give a reader a little mystery, a little “what if this really happened”, kind of feelin. I do not think it was the author’s intent to mislead anyone about God, but rather just to tell an entertaining story.

    My problems with “The Shack” is a problem I have in general, as a writer. When you are writing as the voice of God (especially Yahweh)it makes me feel extremely uncomfortable, especially because their are large groups of people that believe anything they read. That’s alot of responsibility to have on ones shoulders.

  4. 4 Tommy Daw
    March 18, 2009 at 10:55 am

    The Shack was the first fiction book I have read since Green Eggs & Ham. JK. But I am not a fiction fan. Mrs.Jerri actually bought the book for me and was adamantly applying pressure for me to read it. I was quite surprised however, at the book’s ability to possess my complete interest throughout the entire read. I have heard a lot about the theology of the book being an absolute abomination in Christian thought, but the premise of the book was meant to draw people to a closer understanding of the relationship of the Trinity, God’s divine foreknowledge, and the more difficult understanding of the problem of evil, but in a completely fictional fashion. It was not intended to be an apologetic for the masses, whereby the answers concerning the Trinity, God’s foreknowledge, and the problem of evil were somehow solved, and the Shack would reign as the answer to all theological matters and therefore be able to stand up against all scholarly refute. Most of the book’s theology would collapse if it was actually met with strong philosophical inquiry. With that said, some of the theological implications were quite interesting and must not be overlooked. To say that the entire theology of the Shack is completely ignorant would be very boastful, and would not be characteristic of the epistemic humility that all Christians should have when studying such questions pertaining to God. Theology aside,I think this book will have a tremendous impact on Christianity as a whole as it helps the reader have a better understanding of the relationship God wants with us and not the religion we think He wants.

  5. 5 mom
    March 18, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I don’t have to tell you how I felt about the book. I loved it!!! I am happy you finally finished it. Can’t wait to hear your pro’s and con’s about it.


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Pages


