13
Mar
09

what if?

Over the last few years I’ve had some amazing conversations with guys like this guy, this guy and this guy about effecting change in their world.  I mention these guys because I know that one day they will truly impact the world for Jesus Christ.

I’ve had the opportunity to talk to guys like this pastor, this leader, or this guy all of whom are doing some pretty amazing things for God RIGHT NOW!!!

I’m so honored to have this guy in my family.  And I can tell you that this man has done more for the Kingdom of God from the furthest corners of the earth than anyone will ever know and I know he has a lot more work ahead of him.  I remember sitting with him  a couple of years ago in the food court of a mall in downtown Atlanta.  As we polished off some Chick-fil-A I remember telling him that my greatest fear in life was the fear that I would one day find myself sitting in the grandstands of heaven watching a heroes parade of the people that did something amazing for God in their lifetimes, and I would simply be a spectator.

I gotta tell you that thought still scares the daylights out of me.

The craziest thing though is this.  I believe the one thing that could possibly stand in the way of me truly doing something GREAT for God is the one little question: “what if?”

What if I fail?  What if I’m wrong?  What if I try to lead, but no one follows?  What if? what if? What if?

I love the story of Peter walking on water to Jesus.  I imagine this guy had some BIG TIME what ifs bouncing around in his head before he got his feet wet.  The big one:  What if I drown?  But I’ve often wondered what if Peter DIDN’T step out of the boat.  Would his story be the same?

Would he have continued to be one of Jesus’ closest disciples?

Would he have been restored to relationship with Jesus even after denying him?

Would he have led thousands to Christ in one sermon on the day of Pentecost?

Would his shadow have brought healing to whomever it passed over?

Would he have been arrested for preaching the gospel, then released from prison by an angel?

Would he & John have healed the crippled man at the temple gate?

Man I don’t know the answer to those questions, but I seriously have to doubt any of those things would have happened if he gave in to “what if?” sitting on that boat that night.

I guess the point I’m getting at is this:  What if I don’t do what I know Ive been called to do with my life?  What if I don’t walk the path that has been divinely planned just for me?  What miraculous things will I miss seeing with my own eyes.  It may be that my greatest fear of sitting in the grandstands of heaven watching the heroes parade go by me, might come true.

You know what?  I don’t want to take that risk.   I may not be in a heroes parade in heaven one day, but I refuse to sit in the grandstands and just watch.  I’m stepping out of the boat?

You comin?

2 Responses to “what if?”


  1. March 13, 2009 at 8:31 am

    GREAT post man. You are already blowing it up, and you are about to step out into another level of “life”. I can not wait to see what happens!

  2. March 14, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    I knew a young man once who left the USA to live in Jerusalem (for 4 years). This young man gave up the comforts of home and the pursuit of a normal “christian” life to follow a burning passion to walk with Jesus, where ever the path took him. He didn’t know then, but those days set the course of his life. That he would marry a gorgeous wife and have 3 beautiful, unique children. Or that, he would do all the things he as done (and will do)?

    Same as Peter I guess.. he had no clue when he was stepping out of that boat that one day in his future, he was going to walk down a street and his very shadow would heal people.. that he would preach one day and 3000 people would come to Jesus.. Peter was just got caught up in that single moment of walking with Jesus during a storm..

    Thanks.. you’ve reminded me … just keep on walking!


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Pages


