24
Nov
08

overload.

info-overload-picSo I woke up 30 minutes late this a.m. and ever since I feel like I’ve been trying to catch up.  The day has been completely unproductive.  I have obligations, deadlines, goals that have to be met, and IT AIN’T HAPPENING!!!  I hate to break from the philosphical, exhortitational(isthatevenaword), normal post, but I just gotta tell somebody, that I feel like I”m on OVERLOAD today.

How do you deal with overload?  I’m willing to try anything . . . well almost anything. . . remember I am a pastor:)

5 Responses to “overload.”


  1. 1 Mike Wood
    November 24, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Shannon,

    Here is the best recipe for overload…….
    Mojito

    2 ounces White Rum
    ounce Lime Juice
    1 teaspoon Sugar
    6 whole Mint Leaf
    2 ounces Soda Water
    Put juice and sugar into a highball glass and stir until dissolved. Rub mint leaves on inside of the glass and discard. Fill with crushed ice and rum, stir. Top with soda water and garnish with a sprig of mint.

  2. 2 Mike Wood
    November 24, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    or you can choose this avenue….

    Sunday before last, the Rev. Ed Young of Grapevine, Texas, challenged the married couples of his 20,000-member congregation to strengthen their unions through Seven Days of Sex, Gretel C. Kovach reports in The New York Times.

  3. 3 Tracy
    November 24, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    So this happens to me sometimes…I hate it when it seems like one event can mess up all the ones that follow! It’s a completely helpless situation, or so it feels at the time 🙂

    I usually call my husband, who then tells me that worrying about what I’m NOT accomplishing will not help me accomplish it…in fact it will only make it worse.

    So here’s what I have learned to do. When I get completely overwhelmed and overloaded I think to the future. For instance if today I’m struggling, wondering how I’m going to do everything that needs to be done then I will skip forward to about 2 weeks and think to myself, will I even remember today? Will I most likely get done the important things that needed to get done? Yes, the things I don’t get done will it make such an impact on my life that in 2 weeks from now I will be worried about it? Usually the answer is no, and I then picture what my attitude and life will be like at that futuristic 2 week time frame and it helps me realize that the things that need to get done today will and what does not get done today will be worked on tomorrow..but in the long run most likely 2 weeks from now…I will be thinking of NONE of them…

    Sorry to be long winded but this has helped me since I can remember getting an F on a progress report in middle school and totally stressing out about telling my mom…it was then that I developed this method and it still helps me today!

    I know you’ll make it through it!

  4. 4 Rachel
    November 24, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    You wanna know what I do. I thank God that I have chaos in my life, because if I didn’t then I would have no opportunities to be blesses. Role with the punches, adapt and overcome.

  5. November 25, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    i’m with mike on this one… both with the mojito and ed’s challenge to couples… ive moved my membership to fellowship church for a week.


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


