21
Nov
08

beautiful.

I love music.  I’m not a musician, and I only sing to selective audiences in selective places (mostly myself, and in the shower).  But I love all kinds of music.  Coldplay, Maroon 5, Dolly Parton (yes I do, but not for that reason), I even like some old school church music, choir stuff, and okay if I’m being honest even a southern gospel song or two.

From time to time there is a song that zings me and I can’t get away from it.  And the one that I have locked on repeat right now is a song Beautiful.  It’s on Gateway Worship’s Wake Up the World album.  I love the words, especially the first verse.  I’m finding that when I take time to just sit in God’s presence one of the hardest things to do is to “let go of all I’ve held, every motive, every burden, everything that’s of myself.”  Its so hard to remove all distractions.  Do you find that too?  How do you do that?  I’d love to know how to do that more easily.

At any rate here are the lyrics to the song.  And if you want to listen to it, just click here:

Here before Your altar
I am letting go of all I’ve held
Of every motive, every burden
Everything that’s of myself

I just want to wait on You, my God
I just want to dwell on who You are

Beautiful, beautiful oh I am lost for more to say
Beautiful, beautiful oh Lord, You’re beautiful to me

Here in Your presence
I am not afraid of brokenness
To wash Your feet, with humbled tears
Oh, I would be poured out till nothing’s left

I just want to wait on You, my God
I just want to dwell on who You are, You are

Beautiful, beautiful oh I am lost for more to say
Beautiful, beautiful oh Lord, You’re beautiful to me

Holy, Holy, Holy, You are, You are

Incidentally, Kari Jobe sings the solo on this song, and my buddy Brewster over at Integrity tells me she has a new album coming out in February.  I think he can tell you here how to get that album.

what song is locked on repeat for you right now?

6 Responses to “beautiful.”


  1. November 21, 2008 at 9:21 am

    thanks for the link love. i have 2 songs stuck in my head, but not at the same time: Kanye – Love Lock Down and Israel Houghton – Sing, Redemptions song.

  2. November 21, 2008 at 10:02 am

    I have “The Wheels on the Bus” and “Skinny Marinki Dinki Dink.” I guess that was bound to happen when you have children!

  3. 3 Lisa
    November 21, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    It’s a song by Kim Walker…she’s amazing. But some of the lyrics that roll around in my head are:
    ” I asked you for life, and you sent your son to die for me. I asked you for hope, you came in the night and gave me a dream. I asked you for freedom, you broke every chain and gave me the keys. I asked you for love never ending and every day you surround me. And now my faith in you is a mountain that can’t be shaken, and now my strength is found in you..it’s a joy that can’t be taken. Praise spills from my lips flowing on to the feet of you my king. You deserve all the love and all the honor that I can bring.”

  4. November 21, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    You can judge my spiritual life if you want by my honest answer, lol. Today at work I passed a table and the person said something about the wheels of the bus. I went in to my office and started singing the wheels of the bus go round and round, round and round. The guy I share the office joined in and started doing the swish, swish sound.

    I am not a very musical perosn so usually portions of Psalms get stuck in my head and in my prayers.

    I love the song you wrote out. I so would like that to be my daily cry of my heart. I want to get better at waiting on Him, getting lost in His love to where I am speechless.

  5. November 24, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    the Wonder Pets theme in my head a lot, and Blake’s Got a New Face by Vampire Weekend. if you think thats weird, you should get in my head when I’m singing them both at the same time.

    Good times.

  6. 6 Beka
    February 9, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Hey, I just found this post because I wanted the lyrics to this song. It’s playing right now. I don’t know that I can find any song more worshipful right now. It’s just overwhelming. Thank you for posting the lyrics. My church sings a lot of Kari Jobe’s and Gateway’s songs. Amazing…and I don’t know what more to say.


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


