10
Oct
08

stalled & dissatisfied.

The results of the Reveal study may be of interest to no one else but me.  But some of the results of this study are pretty staggering.  Enough so for me to make some mental notes of what I’m learning.  I’m posting those mental notes here in hopes that you might be challenged to look at your own spiritual life and ask yourself how you’re doing.  Hopefully that’s happening, and if not, and if you find this stuff boring, please accept my apologies.

However, I wanted to share another result of this study that I found very interesting.  Of the people surveyed in this study nearly one in four people (25%) said that they are currently at a place in their spiritual lives where they are “stalled” or “dissatisfied.”

I’ll explain in greater detail later what characterizes a stalled person and a dissatisfied person, but for now the nutshell explanation is this:

Stalled – “I believe in Christ, but I haven’t grown much lately.”  A person in this category wrestles with lost momentum in spiritual growth.

Dissatisfied – “My faith is central to my life and I’m trying to grow, but my church is letting me down.” This person demonstrates all the signs of full devotion, but is generally unhappy with the church.

Like I said I’ll unpack this a little more in some later posts but I’m curious, can you identify with either of these two areas?  Have you been in either category?  How did you move forward?  Are you there now?  If you are but you don’t really feel comfortable leaving a comment here, would you email me and let me know how I can pray for you?

5 Responses to “stalled & dissatisfied.”


  1. October 10, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Brother, I love your blog! Thank you for continuing to post such good stuff.

  2. 2 Mike
    October 11, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Hey there Shannon, I can definitely relate to the “Stalled” category, the challenge is in finding the tipping point between the constant uphill struggle and stepping out onto the path that you feel you should be heading in.

  3. October 12, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I have a bit of a different view on this…(imagine that.) If I’m honest, I think that 25% is my favorite group of people in the church. Or at least the group that I think will bring the most change….I think that both of these places can be a healthy place to be.
    About being stalled…If we were always on top of our game and feeling “full,” we would never be hungry…
    And about being dissatisfied with the church… if you are willing to be the change that your church needs, then go ahead, feel that way. If we always felt our church was hunky dory then it would stagnate. If a church is truly letting you down, then do all you can to be the change- pray and get in the face of God. He inhabits the praises of His people… thats a promise. So if you get yourself to a place of true praise, He WILL show up. and where the spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. As long as you realize that your church is you, you can be an incredible agent of change.

    So if you feel like your in these places, let it push you to a deeper level with Christ. Hunger for the Lord, but feed yourself too. since when do we gather to be “fed?” isn’t that for babies? eat some meat! if theres word going forth at all at your church, pick it up yourself and eat it. Let his word drive you to a place where you see the grossness of your flesh because if you hunger for righteousness, you will be filled.
    And its okay to be dissatisfied. ya know why? its because there is always always more of Him. If you leave wanting more, thats awesome. and if you walk in the righteousness that you were hungry for and that He filled you with, you will walk in the love that is needed to help propel your church into the bed chamber. He longs for intimacy with His bride. Do we long for intimacy with Him?
    just a thought.

    [sorry shannon, i kinda got carried away. but thanks for makin me think.]


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


