01
Oct
08

i’m hacked off

Okay guys, I’m not really the kind of person who jumps on every boycott band wagon and forwards emails to everyone one I know telling people to forward that email to ten more people or fungus will start growing between their toes.  But I did get an email this a.m. and it really upset me.  Not the email, but the subject of the email.

I’ve checked this out to see if its legit and it is.  It was a comic that was posted on WashingtonPost.com on September 9.  Now you’ve probably heard about it, but I gotta tell you this really ticks me off.  I have a real hard time with storms of controversy brewing over comic strips that are offensive to Muslims, and the whole world seems to talk about it, and when something like this comes out, Christians are expected to just suck it up and shut up, because after all we have freedom of speech in the U.S.

So tell me, am I making a big deal out of nothing here?  Does this hack anyone else off?

6 Responses to “i’m hacked off”


  1. October 1, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    They just don’t get Pentecost… I don’t know if that’s as much their problem as it is what we’ve done with it. In other words…
    “Why blame the dark for being dark? It’s far more helpful to ask why the light isn’t as bright as it should be.” – Rob Bell

  2. 2 Lisa
    October 1, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    It is frustrating. But there’s a backlash in it to me because the whole cartoon is so ignorant and not very insightful. It plays on very superficial stereotypes which makes it look childish. I honestly don’t think that even if we were everything we should be as believers that the jabs would decrease. I think the enemy used a cartoon as a very weak weapon. I don’t think you’re making a big deal out of nothing though, and you’re right, Christians are constantly put down, but then what kind of response can we really make that would set everything right? They’ll twist it and pervert it to satisfy yet another stereotype of a hypocrytical Christian. Maybe it’s hoky, but God does say vengeance (sp?) is His. Hezekiah’s response when the King of Assyria was taunting and threatening to attack, was silence. He commanded the people to not respond to the taunts of the enemy and eventually God killed them all including the King of Assyria a the hands of his own kids. I think the bigger danger is for the man or woman who created this cartoon. They’re mocking God…not a good place to be, and they’re so lost. This hit a nerve w/ me because I struggle w/ the correct response to attacks like this. Silence and prayer has been my only answer from God…I keep thinking, “but isn’t there something else I can do? say?….please can I do or say something?? Thanks for the blog.

  3. 3 SONICMAN2
    October 1, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Im with you Shannon.

    I’ll never understand why it doesnt go both ways on these issues. We dont DARE say anything about muslims, etc without Jessie Jackson or some other jumping all over us. But the secular media has a field day slurring christians and God.

  4. October 1, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Great point Lisa!!! Absolutely great point. It makes me mad, frustrated whatever, but at the end of the day the godly response is silence and prayer. guess that’s what it means to turn the other cheek.

  5. 5 Diann
    October 2, 2008 at 7:39 am

    I think I heard somewhere that the guy apologized but I could be wrong and it really doesn’t matter anyway. I think this is just the tip of the iceberg. It will get nastier especially if McCain/Palin win or even look like they are going to.
    Yes, it made me furious and I wanted to “do” something but people are just ignorant and afraid of what they don’t understand.

  6. 6 Randy Harris
    October 7, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I saw the cartoon and was disgusted as well. Not surprised though, Christians are always going to be ridiculed. Sign of the times we live in. Just proves that time is short and we need to be busy for Jesus


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


