12
Aug
08

friends

I believe friends are the truest expression of God’s grace in our lives.  They are God’s way of saying, “Here’s someone to care about you, to like you, and love you, even if you don’t deserve it.”  Family members have to love you, at least they’re supposed to but Friends?  Friends choose to love you.

I’ve seen some impossible people, or should I say people whom I would label as impossible to love, and yet there are people who love them, they’re friends with them, even when no one else can stand them.

In a brief, 5 minute conversation with a friend last night, in the middle of our neighborhood (they were going one way, we another, and stopped to meet each other in the median), I realized how real the grace of God really is.  I saw that grace expressed in the form of a friend who knows how to speak directly into my life.

Sometimes I take my friends for granted, I just assume they are part of life.  But that’s not a given.  Friends are a gift. And sometimes its good to just tell them, “Thanks for being my friend.”

A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.” – Proverbs 17:17

1 Response to “friends”


  1. August 12, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Great post. My wife and I have been reminded a lot lately how important our friends are in life and how easy it is to take them for granted.

    First time to your blog by the way, I enjoy your stuff and look forward to checking back.


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


