21
Jul
08

visitor

People stop by our office all the time for one reason or another.  Today a guy dropped by the office. Just an average Joe with a couple fliers in his hands and started telling me about the 1000 Wells Project; a project that plans to build exactly one thousand fresh water wells in one thousand communities across Africa.  He asked me if I would pass these along, maybe see if anyone in our church would be interested in partnering with 1000 Wells.

I thanked him for the information, and asked “If someone wants to get involved do they need to call you?”  He kind of smiled and said “No, they can just go to the website.”  So I asked him his connection to 1000 Wells, and his response was simple, “I just want to be part of something that’s not church as usual.”  He had no motive other than hoping that someone else would feel his burden and get involved.  No extra credit in college, no bonus check, not even a pat on the back.   I invited him in to my office and we just sat and talked about what God was doing in his life.  He said things like  “there’s got to be more to Christianity than this,” and “all I really want to do is change the world.”  I asked him what he wanted to do with his life, and responded with “Whatever the heck God wants me to do.”  I thought for a second I was listening to myself and in a strange way I was, I was hearing this dude say the same things I had been saying over the last 3 or 4 weeks.

This visitor was a reminder that ministry, serving, isn’t sitting behind a desk coming up with ways for others to do something, true ministry is doing “whatever the heck God wants me to do.”  It might be passing out fliers to build a thousand wells in Africa today, but who knows what He’ll ask me to do tomorrow.

So, if you don’t mind, let me be your visitor today.  Let me ask you what you’re doing with your life?  I’ve asked it before, and will ask it again and again, “are you truly living?”  Maybe a way to start is by heading over to the 1000 Wells Project and help give the gift of water to people who don’t have any.

2 Responses to “visitor”


  1. July 21, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Outstanding post!

    Just wanted you to know that I needed to read this story today.

    -Peace

  2. July 22, 2008 at 9:52 am

    very cool story. That junk just hit me between the eyes, and I’ve got a bruise now.. thnx. That fits perfectly with the iServe series… serving is more than 1 single act, its a lifestyle of giving.


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


