11
Jul
08

is this all there is? (4)

Several months ago I met a husband and wife at church that were expecting twins. I couldn’t believe my ears when Stephanie, the wife, told me that she was a surrogate for another lady who was unable to carry her babies to term. Through the medical marvels of in vitro fertilization, this average, young, Caucasian woman, gave birth a couple weeks ago to two beautiful Hispanic baby boys. I asked Stephanie some questions about her experience, here’s what she said:

Q. Why did you decide to be a surrogate?
A. I had heard about surrogacy before I ever had my children and it sounded like something I wanted to do and once I had my two daughters it confirmed my thoughts. To see my girls running around and growing up and knowing there were couples out there that couldn’t experience that broke my heart. And I felt the least I could do was help a baby grow inside me.

Q. Did you ever regret your decision?
A. Not once. There were stressful and tough times, but that’s the same of any pregnancy. I knew through it all that those two boys were worth every step I had to take to make it to delivery day.

Q. What was it like when you gave the babies to their mother?
A. There are hardly any words to describe my ultimate feeling of joy. To watch their whole lives change on their face in mere seconds was so beautiful. I never thought I could feel such love for another family. We were only in town a few days after the birth and the babies were still in the NICU. When I would visit and watch the mother and father hold their children it filled my heart with love. Like I said, it’s hard to find the words.

Q. Would you do it again? Why?
A. I would do it again right at this moment. Of course I have to wait 6 months until I can be pregnant again and I am so excited for that time to come. Everyday I think of that family and of my own and am still in awe that I am am blessed with them. The couple constantly thanks me for the gifts of life I gave them, but I can’t thank them enough for the opportunity. I truly feel God gave me this calling and knew I could go through this and feel nothing but joy from it. This experience has changed my life and has showed me that my heart can love with no boundaries.

Is this all there is to the life of a Christ follower? Helping others in absolutely radical ways? If so, then I would say Stephanie is living life to the fullest.

0 Responses to “is this all there is? (4)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


