02
Dec
07

So this is Christmas. . .

While the entire world seems so consumed with gifts, and packages, and spending more and more and more on gifts for people who really “NEED” so little, it is so exciting to be part of something that demonstrates the true meaning of Christmas. I’m talking about our church’s annual Christmas outreach called Merry Christmas Baldwin County. Each year we give away boxes of food for families and gifts to kids in families that can’t afford Christmas presents.

This year we’re giving away 500 boxes of food, and over 1500 gifts. Of that 1500, some 1200 of these gifts are bicycles:

2074396477_ab4d36ec52.jpg2074398455_856e3d4ac6.jpg2075190748_56d24466ee.jpg

It was so cool to be in church this morning, and our entire stage was covered with bicycles and tricycles. Not to mention the ones hanging from the ceiling, altogether about 300 were right hanging all over our sanctuary.

I was walking by one of the little tricycles the other day at the church and I started thinking about the little guy that would get that particular bike. I wondered what his life was like, and what he would think when he got his first bike. Its quite humbling to think about his life when I have it so good. I’m not wealthy by any means, but I truly am blessed, and I know more people who have than I do that don’t have. It has started to really bother me when I hear people talk about how they don’t have any money, and yet they live in mansions, equipped with the finest of accomodations, nothing but the best for them, when the reality is they know absolutely nothing about “not having any money.” I refuse to ever say again, I don’t have money, I’m broke or poor. I’m so wealthy compared to some of the people who will have to swallow every ounce of pride they have to come to a church next Saturday so their kids can have Christmas presents. We’re really are a grossly greedy society.

This whole Merry Christmas Baldwin County thing has gotten me thinking, about the true meaning of Christmas. Its not about the gifts we get, its about the gifts we give. Its not about what we have, but what we do with what we have. Its not about living in the lap of luxury, but about helping others simply live. This is Christmas.

So this is Christmas
And what have you done?
Another year over
And a new one just begun

And so this is Christmas
I hope you have fun
The near and the dear one
The old and the young.

 

A very Merry Christmas
And a Happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good one
Without any fear

 

And so this is Christmas
For weak and for strong
For rich and the poor ones
The road is so long

 

And so Happy Christmas
For black and for white
For yellow and red ones
Let’s stop all the fight.

 

A very Merry Christmas
And a Happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good one
Without any fear

 

So this is Christmas
And what have you done?
Another year over
And a new one just begun

 

And so Happy Christmas
I hope you have fun
The near and the dear one
The old and the young.

 

A very Merry Christmas
And a Happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good one
Without any fear

1 Response to “So this is Christmas. . .”


  1. 1 Mom
    December 3, 2007 at 7:16 am

    This is amazing… You are right about Christmas…And we are truly Blessed!!!!


Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


