26
Oct
07

I Finally Did It. . .

Decided today to join the Junky Car Club. Check out the website to see the very stringent requirements to be a member.

dsc03309.jpg My car isn’t really junky but its paid for, it definitely has some miles on it, a nice round dent in the hood, a weird buzzing noise when I drive it, 1 speaker that works all of the time, three that work part of the time, and one of those three has been blown from me playing music too loud on one too many trips trying to stay awake. But joining the junky car club wasn’t the only thing I did. I came across a child sponsorship program called Compassion International. We’ve been talking for a long time that we want to teach our kids, to be thankful for what they have and to always be willing to bless others. So tonight at dinner, I’m introducing my family to Pet, from Thailand, who we will be sponsoring from now on.

Here’s the deal. I’m tired of “talking” about doing stuff like blessing others. I’m ready to do it. I’m tired of talking about praying more. I’m ready to do it. I’m tired of talking about studying the Bible more. I’m ready to do it. I’m tired of talking. I’m ready to be deliberate and direct. I want to love deliberately and passionately. I want to be the best Christ follower, husband, dad, friend, pastor on purpose. No more talking about it. I’m ready to do it. When I die, I want to hear: “You know what Shannon, you finally did it, and I’m proud of you!”

0 Responses to “I Finally Did It. . .”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

@shannongreer says

My Tweets

Archives

Pages


